1400 Colonial Blvd., Suite 1  |  Fort Myers  |  FL  |  33907  |  Phone: (239) 938-1813  |  Fax: (239) 938-1817    

Mission: to work together across neighboring communities to consistently protect and improve the unique and relatively unspoiled character of the physical, economic and social worlds we share for the benefit of our future generations.

Council Members & Committees


The agency is directed by a thirty-six member Council composed of local elected officials and gubernatorial appointees. Four individuals who represent State interests provide assistance as Ex-Officio members. Of the 24 elected officials who represent local governments, about 40% work full time in their elected posts and 60% work parttime in their elected posts.

SWFRPC Council Members

Current Committee Assignments
Former Committee Listing

  • Budget & Finance Committee

    The Committee has the responsibility for the preparation of annual budget and all amendments thereof.

  • Estero Bay ABM

    The Committee serves as a non-regulatory advisory committee to the Council. Its directive is to make comments and recommendations regarding the management of Estero Bay and its watershed. Negotiations over the permit issuance for the Florida Gulf Coast University led to a Settlement Agreement that called for the creation of the "Arnold Committee" and an assessment of overall land uses and natural systems, environmental protection and mitigation tools in the Estero Bay watershed. Upon completion of the Assessment and its adoption by the Arnold Committee in October of 1996, the Council established and began providing staff support to the Estero Bay Agency on Bay Management (ABM).

  • Executive Committee

    The Committee is comprised of the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary and Treasurer of the Council. The Officers are elected at the Council’s January meeting.

  • Legislative Affairs Committee

    The Committee researches and develops recommended legislative issues for Council consideration. Upon Council adoption, serves as lobbyist for Council. Because the workload of the Legislative Committee varies due to the Legislative Session, meetings are called on an as needed basis. Quorum for this committee is defined as 33% of its membership or 6 members whichever is less.